Complete novice looking for info

More
9 years 6 months ago #23065 by MarcGI
Hi Folks,

I am a complete novice in Milnerton, Cape Town looking for info on where and how to get started.

I have gone through the forums, but I couldn't find any threads outlining how to get started, where/how to learn, buy kit and equipment etc. I might have missed it, but there aren't "sticky" popular/common threads like you find on other forums.

Any and all help or advice would be most appreciated.

Thanks,
Marc

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 6 months ago #23067 by [email protected]
Hi Marc,

The best way to get started is to spend as little money as possible before you're certain that the sport is for you!

And one way of doing that is to join a surfski school for a few sessions - not only will they show you the basics, lending you all the equipment that you need, but you'll also get plenty of advice and get to try various beginner skis.

Dawid Mocke's surfski school is a great choice - they run out of Fish Hoek, which is a bit of a drive for you, but hopefully achievable for a couple of Saturday mornings.

Click here for the surfski school website.

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...
The following user(s) said Thank You: MarcGI

More
9 years 6 months ago #23068 by MarcGI
Hi Robin,

Thanks. I have emailed them.

Out of interest, are there any inland (Calm) area's on the Milnerton side (Or further out.) of the world where novices can train/practise? Rietvlei? Is it allowed? The river at Woodbridge Island? I know the canoer's paddle there. ie: Somewhere a novice could paddle when the sea is angry?