busted FENN venturi...where to get new one?

More
4 years 1 month ago #36069 by jmden
Hello all,

Been lurking a bit, and have a question, so time to post. A wealth of information here. What a great resource!

I'm new to surfskis and recently picked up a FENN Swordfish S. One of the venturis is  badly damaged around the open edge--boat probably got set down on a hard surface/rock and busted it.

Where can I get a new one and how do you get the things off and what's the best way to re-attach one?

I have an email into oceanpaddlersports.com re this, so they may have the answer, but I have not seen venturis for sale yet.

Also looking to incorporate bullets into the equation as my speed isn't too great yet and I understand they may help drain the footwell at lower speeds.

Thanks for the help!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
4 years 1 month ago #36070 by [email protected]

Been lurking a bit, and have a question, so time to post. A wealth of information here. What a great resource!

You're most welcome! 

Here are a couple of links that might be of interest, if you haven't seen them:

Bullet Scuppers (how to install)
The theory behind bullet scuppers

Where can I get a new one and how do you get the things off and what's the best way to re-attach one?

Hopefully Ocean Paddle Sports will be able to help you with the spare part. 

Probably the best approach is to grind the damaged scupper off and epoxy the new one on. 

There is a company, Republic Sports, in Durban, South Africa that makes the bullet scupper kits. 
Their email address is This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Good luck!

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...