Low volume skis for flat water

More
6 years 1 month ago #30998 by kwolfe
So I looked around and can't really find a definitive answer. I live in the middle of Pennsylvania, US. Around here we have lakes and rivers (none really that great), which means I paddle flat water 99.9% of the time.

When it comes to low volume boats (V10L for example), they are commonly known as skis for lighter paddlers. I assume this is because a heavier paddler (I'm 196lbs) would cause it to pearl and dive on a larger downwind day.

However, what about flat water paddling? Can a heavier guy like myself get away with having a lower volume ski or would a heavier paddlers weight just kill the intended/optimum waterline? I currently paddle a Nelo 550 and it doesn't seem to have near the volume of my previous V8, SEL or V14. Just curious.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 1 month ago #31000 by LakeMan
I'm no expert on surfskis but I'm like you where I live inland and paddle flatware almost all of the time. I weigh almost 40 pounds less then you and paddle a Think Uno Max (elite version). At 16 inches at its widest internal measurement it's as thin a ski as I could fit in. When purchasing it I didn't care about volume as much as I did about how narrow the boat was. I was looking for speed and I found it. Plus it's very comfortable. Getting used to the stability (or lack of) took practice but once mastered I found it to be an awesome ski. Paddling it is almost effortless. The lightweight is only an issue when a storm pops up and the chop gets bad. It tends to throw the boat around since it sits on the water more than in it.

Wesley at surfski racing may be the best at answering your question. You can contact him through his website.

"Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts." - Winston Churchill

More
6 years 1 month ago - 6 years 1 month ago #31009 by [email protected]