Robberg Express?

More
14 years 4 days ago #4334 by Marx
Robberg Express? was created by Marx
Just wondering how the Robberg Express rates. Do not seem to be able to find much feedback from other paddlers out there. Only the review on this site by RM. How are they for re-sale?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 3 days ago #4340 by wmongie
Replied by wmongie on topic Re: Robberg Express?
I've been paddling a Robberg for about 6 months and so far I'm very happy with it. I'm 6ft and 75kg and the boat is a good fit for me. It's nice and light (mine's glass, 15kg) and easy to handle on and off the water. More of a rocker than say the Fenn Elite or the Epics and this makes for good turning around the buoys but affects the directional stability in my opinion. It performs well downwind and accelerates onto the runs well. Resale doesn't seem to be very good as you can pick up a good condition boat for pretty cheap here in South Africa. I think it's a good boat for the lighter paddler. The guy I bought it from was heavier (probably closer to 95kg) and he complained about the width of the cockpit. I've had to pad out the cockpit on the sides to make a better fit for my hips. I haven't paddled more than 5 or 6 different boats though so I can't really say how it compares to the majority of what's available on the market. I'm happy with my boat though and probably won't sell it, even if I do end up buying something else in the future.

More
14 years 3 days ago - 13 years 11 months ago #4348 by Marx
Replied by Marx on topic Re: Robberg Express?
I am 5ft 9 and 70kg and have just started paddling on it and still "getting into" it. Paddled XT before. Have not tried re-mounting yet, (I try to not fall off) think that will be interesting as it is quite narrow, other than that it is very comfortable cockpit wise and easy to handle as in carry around.
Last edit: 13 years 11 months ago by Marx.

More
14 years 1 day ago #4366 by Marx