Picking a surfski - why do the think six and epic v9 feel so different

More
6 months 3 weeks ago #40676 by benshaw
Im new to the sport. Up till now i've been borrowing a friends ski or paddling with them in there double but its time for me to get my own. On the advice of a few people i went and demoed some through a local shop (great experience). The ski's i demoed where the Epic V9. Think Six and Think Evo. I want something i can downwind in and that i wont grow out of immediately but also wont spend to much time swimming.
The Epic was awesome, it felt great and i felt really stable in it even having enough confidence to play on small waves from passing boats. I did come out when i started getting tired and was playing around but mostly managed to stay in for a good 6km of paddling.
The Think Six is a boat that seems to be comparative on paper and i thought would feel pretty similar but i couldn't manage to stay in at all.
Obviously i should steer towards the boat i felt better in but i would like to understand ski's enough to know what it was about the Think that made such a large difference. To me it felt like i was higher in the water on the Think's and i also found myself leaning back in them for some reason both of witch lead to a more twichy feeling. Is it just the cockipit shape of the epic works better or is there something else

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 months 3 weeks ago #40678 by zachhandler
V9 has a round hull in cross section. Six is more boxy and flat bottomed. Some prefer one or the other. Flat bottom boats have more primary stability but less secondary. Round bottom boats are more predictable in big messy conditions. Flat bottom boats will feel better in small annoying side chop. I like round hulls personally. I found the v9 to be among the very best downwind boats I have ever been in. It has beautiful manners on the wave.

surfski.info/forum/2-announcements/19885...k-six-v-epic-v9.html