New Paddle Advice

More
1 month 3 days ago #40852 by Kennneee
New Paddle Advice was created by Kennneee
I am in the market for a new paddle. I have been using a Jantex Gama Rio 720 for the last 10 years and it has served me well. I am currently away from my home in British Columbia and spending time in San Diego. While I am here in SD I have been using an old Fenn 3. I have developed some tendonitis which I would love to blame on the paddle but it is most likely just time to treat my "mature" body to a smaller blade and and softer shaft.
The paddles I have been looking at are a Jantex Gama 700 cm superflex, NK Clubline 690cm, Stellar Pros Small 675cm. The new Epic Mid twist looks interesting but there are none to purchase at the moment. Most of my paddling is in relatively flat water with occasional downwinders and bumps. I have not been able to see any of these blades so it is hard to compare shape, twist, etc. Any input appreciated.
Cheers,
Ken

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 month 2 days ago #40854 by CrabStick
Replied by CrabStick on topic New Paddle Advice
I went from Gamma Rio Small plus (flexi-plus green shaft) to a Gara Odin small some years ago and had appreciably less shoulder soreness with the slightly less aggressive blade and a much more flexible shaft. See the many old posts on this topic by others eg Hulk, Nell
The Meek A-series has a similar twist / shape to the gamma and is available with a very flexible "Clint Robinson" shaft. A really top quality paddle.
I'm sure you realise that paddle feel and preference is very personal and you should always demo before you buy. This applies particularly strongly to a gamma user as that paddle has a spectacularly strong catch for it's size and one of the cleaner exits out there. Some users find it a bit unstable or unforgiving in rough water.
Let us know how you like the Jantex Superflex.

CrabStick, Perth Western Australia