Appropriate paddle to take out first time paddlers in a double ski

More
3 years 9 months ago #36888 by SurfskiEstonia
Hi, guys!

Wanted to ask for advice, what paddles (or more generally blade shapes) to consider for this. Should be getting a Carbonology Boost double soon. Planning to take out total beginners in different athletic shape, both male and female. I remember my first experience with a wing blade shape - it was impossible to put any effective strokes in. I'd like to get something that beginners could use to participate in the paddling action when we try to accelerate onto a wave. Would a flat blade shape be a better idea here?

Current: Carbonology Boost double, Jantex Gamma Mid
Previous: Nelo Ocean Ski L, Jantex Gamma Rio Large Minus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 9 months ago #36892 by mrcharly
I think using wings to start with is fine. It takes quite a bit of adaption to switch from flat to wings; reflexes are all wrong.

My club runs several introduction to racing courses a year. We start everyone on wings, in stable boats. No problems.

There are some blades that are easier than others; Epic, jantex gamma rio, gara odin.  Some other blades are v good for forward strokes but a bit awkward for braces and draws. I'd avoid those.

Go small with blade size. 
The following user(s) said Thank You: SurfskiEstonia

More
3 years 9 months ago - 3 years 9 months ago #36893 by SurfskiEstonia
Thanks a lot for the reply:) I will definitely go for a smaller size than I paddle now (gamma mid) - a mid minus or small. But I think most beginners (95%) that will try to sit in a double with me, won't become paddlers and won't have more encounters with paddling than 2-3 times per year. Is it still a good idea to go for a wing? My main concern is that participating in active paddling requires high cadence and imo it's almost impossible to achieve with a wing without prior experience... :|