Mocke or Vaikobi PFD

• Stanton
  • Visitor
9 years 2 months ago #23292 by Stanton
Mocke or Vaikobi PFD was created by Stanton
Curious to hear some opinions and experience regarding the comparison between these two. PFD. Specifically ease of remount while wearing either of them. I find that I sometime forego the PFD because if the interference created during remount. May sound like silly criteria but it is what it is. Thanks.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 2 months ago #23294 by topswimmer
Replied by topswimmer on topic Mocke or Vaikobi PFD
Hi Stanton
As you can see from my profile name im quite new to this game & as a consequence have more than my fair share of remounts to do.
I currently have the Mocke pfd, it fits quite snug as the floatation panels are all individual,has a rear pocket for a hydration pack & front one for a flare/ phone.
Even with the above gear inside i find it unobtrusive during remounts even over a drysuit which is de-riguer for the UK at this time of year.
The Vaikobi looks good & has the hi-viz colour for added safety but i prefer the orange over the yellow/green.
The following user(s) said Thank You: Stanton

More
9 years 2 months ago #23295 by Mjwashington
Replied by Mjwashington on topic Mocke or Vaikobi PFD
Hi Stanton,

I have the Vaikobi PFD and really like it. It has two good pockets on the front and carries a bladder on the back easily. The PFD fits like a jacket with flotation panels all around. I have a few PFDs and this would be the most comfortable as the panel at the front isn't bulky like some. I have had a few swims in the PFD and remount is very easy. The good thing with the latest PFDs is they are so comfortable to wear that you don't even know half the time you are wearing them. Personally the thought of not wearing a PFD regardless of the conditions scares the heck out of me.

More
9 years 2 months ago #23297 by Kayaker Greg
Replied by Kayaker Greg on topic Mocke or Vaikobi PFD