What do you wear on your feet?

More
3 years 5 months ago - 3 years 5 months ago #37514 by Arcturus
When I was in SoCal I was told most people went barefoot while paddling their skis, at least in the warmer seasons (which is, umm, most of the year there...). Their beaches are nice, soft sand.

Here in Colorado I’ve been wearing 3mm short booties for the past five months, even in summer when I could get away with going barefoot IN the ski but would need to strap on Crocs for carrying it on our not-so-nice ground between parking lot and water. With the water now cold, when I finished paddling yesterday, my feet were numb and the soles had turned whitish-yellow from the cold. It’s time to put on something warmer that fits in the footwell—probably some 7mm surfing booties I already have.

What do you cold-water paddlers use for footwear? I’m less than thrilled with the surfing booties and wonder what low-profile (laceless, buckleless, unbulky) exist.
Last edit: 3 years 5 months ago by Arcturus.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 5 months ago #37516 by zachhandler
I like these low profile, high top, no buckles:

www.amazon.com/Hyperflex-ACCESS-5mm-Roun...00IP46728?th=1&psc=1

It is very hard to keep feet and hands warm if your core is at all cold because your body will decrease bloodflow to your extremities to minimize heat loss. So make sure that is not part of the issue. Not sure where you are in CO but i imagine lakes will freeze over pretty soon. 

Current Skis: Epic v10 g3, NK 670 double, NK exrcize, Kai Wa’a Vega, Carbonology Feather, Think Jet, Knysna Sonic X
Former Skis: Epic V12 g2, Epic V12 g1, Epic v10 double, Nelo 550 g2, Fenn Elite S, Custom Kayaks Synergy

More
3 years 5 months ago - 3 years 5 months ago #37521 by Arcturus
I like the rubberized coating over the forefoot—no windchill.