Relative Stability of the Futura Blade?

More
11 years 7 months ago #13036 by seamonkey
Hi, I'm new to surfski paddling. I've been wanting to paddle a ski for a long time, and found a great deal on a Blade. I've paddled it a few times now, and my sense of balance is improving.

The question: is the Blade considered a Beginner, Intermediate, or Advanced ski? I really don't know much about it, other than I like the challenge of learning to paddle it. I'm learning on a 19 mile, warm, freshwater lake and look forward to some distance paddling for fitness.

I have a long history with my four other kayaks, and the Blade is the narrowest boat that I've paddled. I'm trying to quantify my experience, so I have a point of reference to other skis.

Thanks!

Rainer Lang

Seeking balance

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 7 months ago #13083 by Steve Hansen
Hi, I paddled a blade for several years until the Huki S1-X arrived.In it's day the Blade was an intermediate level ski with intermediate stability.Most serious racers would be found on Fenn skis which were pretty twitchy.If all you are doing is paddling on flat water the Blade will be fine.If you find yourself down the line wanting to do serious ocean paddling, you would want to upgrade to one of the newer designs.They just handle so much better in challenging conditions.Hope this helps.BTW my carbon Blade was very well made (no stress fractures)but a tad heavy.I think it weighed 32 pounds with adjustable pedals. -Steve H.

More
11 years 7 months ago #13084 by 1xsculler
I weighed and almost bought a $300 glass Blade. It weighed 34 # with adjustable length, if I remember correctly, about 2 # less when removed. I went with a Huke S1-x for 4 x the $ instead. I'm limping along in the Huki but enjoying the challenge. I suppose the Blade would be just as much of a challenge. The 24 # Huki is an easy carry to the water.