4 beginner boats to choose from...can u help

More
13 years 10 months ago #4647 by JPFITNESS1
Hi there,

I am a beginner...have been test driving some boats (ready to purchase my first one), and have narrowed the field down to 4 possibles.

I am picking between the ones that are pretty stable thanks to some sound advice offered here previously...

These are the ones that i am trying to choose between:
Fenn XT (of course)
Epic V10 Sport (speed and stability)
Huki S1R (just had it recommended)
Think EVO (saw it reviewed)

Can anyone offer any advice which may narrow the choice down?

I have also just found an Australian made boat the OZFLYTE R21 ...but know nothing about it ....is this a stable boat?

Would love to hear some thought before i get my dollars out of my wallet

JP

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
13 years 10 months ago #4648 by RHamady
Aloha,

I got the Huki S1-R before I stepped up to a more high performance ski...... Was glad I did, the Huki S1-R is crazy stable and also fast. I did a ton of downwind paddling in it and it was solid and surfed very well. After about a year in it I stepped up to the Huki S1-X Special. After a year in the stable Ski, the transition was fairly easy. I wish I could say more about the other skis but I have not paddled them, except for my very first ski, which was a Fenn Millennium, way too tippy for this beginner, that's when I purchased the S1-R.

I wanted to surf some swell and didn't feel comfortable in the Fenn Millennium (of course I was a newbie), so I got the S1-R. Glad I did, good size surf and wind was fairly easy to paddle in and I had a blast catching open ocean swells and waves in the surf zone. If you want to maximize your pleasure, get a stable ski first.

Huki's are great Skis, Jude & company make a quality product and you can customize them as well.

Hope this helps,
Happy paddling,
-Rich

More
13 years 10 months ago #4649 by Dicko