SCUPPER LEAK/REPAIR

More
1 year 9 months ago #39983 by Shazzy
SCUPPER LEAK/REPAIR was created by Shazzy
Hiya all, I'm new to this game so forgive my ignorance. I live in Mauritius and have a FENN SWORDFISH S . Its taking water and I think its around the scuppers.
I poured tinted water into the bung hole air vent on the top of ski and the only place the tinted water was visible coming out was around scuppers.
My plan is to take off the scuppers and repair the kayak myself. I cannot find anyone on the island to assist. The local boat house guys filled the scupper holes with silicone (dumb move) anyway have removed this. I'll cut off the black scupper fittings but what next ? Sand down then what ? Epoxy and fiberglass ? Just resin ? I have no idea .
I've looked on google and you tube but nothing specific.
Where do I purchase a new pair of scupper fittings to fit post repair ?
Thanks Sharon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
1 year 9 months ago #39984 by [email protected]

Hiya all, I'm new to this game so forgive my ignorance. I live in Mauritius and have a FENN SWORDFISH S . Its taking water and I think its around the scuppers.
I poured tinted water into the bung hole air vent on the top of ski and the only place the tinted water was visible coming out was around scuppers.
My plan is to take off the scuppers and repair the kayak myself. I cannot find anyone on the island to assist. The local boat house guys filled the scupper holes with silicone (dumb move) anyway have removed this. I'll cut off the black scupper fittings but what next ? Sand down then what ? Epoxy and fiberglass ? Just resin ? I have no idea .
I've looked on google and you tube but nothing specific.
Where do I purchase a new pair of scupper fittings to fit post repair ?
Thanks Sharon.

Hey Sharon.

Check this article out, it may help: www.surfski.info/tips/story/1055/bullet-scuppers.html

You can get the scupper kits from republicsportadventure.com/