FENN Mako6 v Elite SL

More
11 years 1 week ago #15783 by DS
FENN Mako6 v Elite SL was created by DS
am an intermediate to average paddler looking to upgrade from Mako6 to EliteSL. What are the differences in boat handling, stability, performance etc.
Are they more unstable in rough conditions?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 1 week ago #15785 by Davidw
Replied by Davidw on topic Re: FENN Mako6 v Elite SL
I had a Mako 6 for years and have paddled my mate's Elite (not SL) several times.
I found it faster, less prone to broaching, but definitely less stable than the 6 in the rough stuff. I believe the SL is less stable still so I'd guess its a fairly big step up from a 6.
I've "upgraded" to a Focus and love it.

More
11 years 1 week ago #15786 by Nige
Replied by Nige on topic Re: FENN Mako6 v Elite SL
My last 3 skis have been the Mako 6, Elite and now Elite SL, all in carbon, so I have lots of experience with all 3 skis.

Firstly the Elite is very similar in stability to the Mako 6, but is a much nicer ski, steers better on the runs and is faster, so you would find the Elite a good option.

The SL handles similarly to the Elite, is slightly faster on flat water but is a lot more unstable than the Elite : the primary stability is a lot less and it feels like a very tippy boat, although the secondary stability is reasonable. Unless you're very stable I would recommend you rather go for the Elite or the new Glide, as the SL is more unstable than both of these.

I've decided to sell my SL and get the new Glide, I just haven't been happy with the SL in big offshore conditions. I've paddled a carbon Glide in a 10km race and really enjoyed it, its very quick in the flatter conditions and small runs and is more stable than the SL but slightly less stable than the Elite. I still need to try it out in big conditions, though.

More
11 years 1 week ago #15787 by [email protected]
Just to comment on what Nige said: