V10L Ultra vs Performance weight vs $

More
16 years 6 months ago #1037 by James L
I am about to make the switch to an Epic V10L

Hard decisions now need to be made between the red Ultra or the black stripe Performance model.

Can anyone help me through this by comparing the two?

Is the extra $ worth the weight saving and extra stiffness? Is it about the stiffness?

I am not a professional paddler and have spent the last year doing K1 work on our local river + couple of marathon events. I paddle 3 times a week for 1 to 2 hrs on flat water and am keen to get out to the ocean a bit.

I have tested the V10L ultra for a few days recently and it was awesome, did some ocean stuff (a humpback came up to check out the new ski!) and put it on the river next to a K1 and it kept up.. soo versatile

I have n't tested the performance model and am curious if the $ savings are better spent on a GPS unit and new paddle and mayb a trip....

advice appreciated

Cheers

James

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
16 years 6 months ago #1038 by stuartknaggs
Opinion #1

Surfski is not like cycling where you have rotating masses and where you have to carry your machine up hills. Three or four kgs are unlikely to effect your performance. An elite paddler may get some extra performance out of the stiffer carbon boat but a recreational paddler is unlikely to notice a huge benefit. Then again, what number do you put on bragging rights to the lightest boat on the beach??

I'd go for the glass boat and the extra toys - but there again, I didn't get on well with the V10L.......

Stuart

More
16 years 6 months ago #1039 by [email protected]

Is the extra $ worth the weight saving and extra stiffness? Is it about the stiffness?

I can't really comment on the Epic skis because I haven't paddled them long enough to compare, but I can tell you my experience with the Fenn Mako6.