100 mile Epic v10g3 mini review

More
3 years 4 months ago #37778 by Epicpaddler
Hope someone who is considering moving up a boat will find this helpful. I know I appreciated as much info as I could find.

I began  my surfski adventure in August of 2018 with a performance lay up Epic v8pro. I  paddled a few races in the fall of 2018 and was hooked. I raced a few more times in the spring of 2019, before a torn rotator cuff sidelined me for most of the summer. I paddled a few races in the fall of 2019 including my first open ocean race in North Carolina. I started training hard in February 2020 as soon as the ice was gone, then Covid hit in March and the racing season was cancelled. Luckily, I was still able to paddle and logged over 1300 miles during the pandemic. Although racing was cancelled I thought it would be a good time to master a faster/skinnier boat. I spent the summer paddling every day and searching for a new ski. Unfortunately, I was kept striking out until an opportunity fell into my lap this fall. I guy in the midwest bought a v10g3 which was a bit much for him. He wanted to trade my v8pr for his v10. About a month ago we made the trade and I've logged just over 100 miles in the v10g3 in the ultra layup. 

So far here are my impressions. Take them for what they are worth (maybe nothing). 
The v10 has a much rounder hull shape and moves around more under the paddler than the v8pro. The v8p was ridiculously stable and a great ski for insuring confidence and learning the forward stroke. The new v10 isn't unstable, but it requires my attention. I've only fallen out once, so I guess that's a good thing. (Water is about 50 degrees now). 
The lighter layup makes moving around on land easier, but I do miss the carry handles. The ultra layup does seem much more fragile than the performance layup. I haven't damaged anything yet, but I'm super careful with it.