New owner - crack questions

More
4 years 1 day ago #36541 by FL_Dave
Hello all.  I just discovered this forum a week or so ago, just before buying a secondhand Epic V8 (performance layup).  I am new to surfskis, but have some experience kayaking.

My used V8 has a couple of seemingly minor cracks at the underside of the bailer,  and in the seat/bucket area.  I am not concerned about appearances so much as I don’t want the areas to worsen, or allow water ingress. 

looking at the attached photos, would these areas be concerning?  Would the use of superglue  be sufficient to fill the areas, or would grinding away the gelcoat and re-filling with new gel oat be warranted?  Again, just looking to seal and keep the  areas from getting worse. 

the small crack in the seat doesn’t feel deep, but there is the slightest dip in the spot. 

I appreciate the help. I’m looking forward to getting the ski in the water. 
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• BigFish
  • Visitor
3 years 11 months ago #36553 by BigFish
Replied by BigFish on topic New owner - crack questions
They are all very very minor and could just be ignored. The ones around the bailer are very common and you can just stick any sort of glue over it if you're worried - I wouldn't bother. The ones in the seat and hull are from where something has pushed against it and the structure inside has deformed and cracked the paint on top - again I wouldn't bother fixing it but if you want to you can bang a bit of glue over it.

Remember Epics are made with two skins and a core in the middle. So for the boat to sink both skins would need to be punctured. If just the outer skin is damaged a little bit of water can float around in the core making your boat heavier - but the core material is closed cell and the water won't go too far. Here I am 99% sure neither skin has been compromised and it is just cracked paint.

More
3 years 11 months ago #36558 by FL_Dave