V10S/V10/V12 (all latest versions)

More
9 years 8 months ago #21527 by surfskiforfun
Hi
I have been padling V10S (Performance) for 2 months now, and are looking for another Surfski to use in a freshwater lake. I am 95kg/1.98m. I tried the V10 Performance last week, and I feelt it was a tiny bit less stable, and a little tighter in the bucket. The V10S is loose (no pressure point) in the bucket, but the V10 was a snugger fit. It did not hurt after a 1 houre test, so I Guess its OK.
Since I did not fell out of the V10, maybe a V12 would be fun to get instead. Anyone know if the bucket is smaller in V12 compared to the V10?.
I am also thining of buying Ultra (easier to carry). Is the V10/V12 much more unstable in Ultra layup?. Is it possible to compensate with leaving some water in the cockpit?
Basically looking for advice if it is to big jump to a V12 Ultra from my beloved V10S Performance. (I will keep the V10S near the sea, and use the new surfski in the lake until I master it well)

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago - 9 years 8 months ago #21528 by Kocho
Was the V12 redesigned after it was first released? Specifically the bucket? If it has been redesigned, that means I have only tried the original version and have no idea about the latest.

I am 192cm and 85kg and I don't even fit in the V12: the cockpit is too short (knees too high) and noticeably narrower than the one in the New V10, which I currently have. In the V10 I have plenty of forward space on the rails.

The V12 was also too narrow in the cockpit for me for good rotation - restrictive. I could paddle it briefly, but did not feel good. Similar to what the Think Evo II and Eze feel for me in terms of width - just that little bit too narrow.

The V12 cockpit has sides that felt more vertical than the ones in the new V10, so it would have a more connected feel than the V10 has.