The DD3 Magnum - totally awesome

More
9 years 8 months ago #21259 by Sydneypaddler
I have been paddling for about 6 years starting on the v10 sport which was a great entry level boat for me as I had a background in competitive sports my whole life. Once I progressed I moved onto the V10 - red stripe/seam. It too was a really great boat for comfort and speed. LIving in Sydney I had ample opportunity to try most skis as either some of my friends have them or that we are lucky to have distributors. All of the skis had their good points. But i was not looking for the top end skis - v12/14 , Elite, Uno, Albatross - as I only paddle twice a week, and three times when the wife permits.
I decided to give the local manufacture DD3 a try. earlier I was misled by some of the distributors that DD3 were an inferior product. When i decided to try I gave the Australis and Magnum a go. The Australis a little too tippy for me. When I jumped in the Magnum I could not believe the speeds I could maintain, how stable it was and how well it was made. I was so happy with the Magnum that I ordered 2 carbon models, one for me and the other for my brother who is returning from living overseas. One ski weighing 10.8kg and the other 11.2kg. I understand the heavier one is due more gelcoat because it had more of a design.
I know that everybody has their choice in skis and many people are brand loyal. But if you are willing to try, do what I did. Contact the guys at at dd3. I am happy that i tried the smaller company. The magnum i believe ( and hopefully my garmin is not biased towards brands :) ) is the fastest beginner / Intermediate boat on the market.
If anyone on this forum has tried / purchased one also I would like to hear.

Ben
Ps - fantastic website, really helpful
The following user(s) said Thank You: OConnor

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 years 8 months ago #21264 by Allum