Dead Leg

More
10 years 11 months ago #18065 by Gsez
Dead Leg was created by Gsez
Good morning,

I've been paddling a Carbonology vault for nearly 2 years but took delivery of my new Glide yesterday. An intimidating looking boat in terms of stability but did 4km's this morning and loved it!!! Much more stable than she looks and easily linked runs in small wind chop that I would have had to grind through on my old boat.

BUT! The cockpit is a lot tighter than the my old boat and by the time i finished paddling my left foot and most of my leg had gone completely dead!
Anybody else had similar problems and how do I get around this?

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 11 months ago #18066 by [email protected]
Replied by [email protected] on topic Dead Leg
Howzit...

Just spoke to one of the pros and he suggested two things:

- Use a bum pad. It'll change the pressure spots on your backside (and give you a better paddling position). The downside is that it will make the boat a little more tippy.
- Adjust the rudder pedals forward so that you push more solidly against your heels without inadvertently turning the boat. It'll reducer the tension in your hamstrings and also change the pressure points on your backside.

Good luck!

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...
The following user(s) said Thank You: Carcharodon, Gsez

More
10 years 11 months ago #18067 by Nige
Replied by Nige on topic Dead Leg
Hi,