Nelo Viper 55 and Epic V8

More
11 years 8 months ago #12481 by krishanu
Could anyone advise me regarding how these boats compare? I need comparison in speed, stability, comfort level and surf behavior. I plan to use this boat in big wave and wind condition. A detailed comparison is welcome.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 8 months ago #12489 by markjlyon
I can't shed light on the Nelo, but it does look like another good option in this category. If I were you, I'd also consider the Think Eze--I've been paddling one for a few months and I think it's great. Especially for a smaller paddler, vs. the V8.

More
11 years 8 months ago #12498 by krishanu
Thank you very much. I paddled both the THINK EZE and EPIC V8 boats one time each for about 10 km. Both are excellent boats. Both boats are stable in wave and windy conditions. THINK EZE is based on a fitness boat named THINK FIT. 17' long and 20" wide, whereas EPIC V8 is based on a sea kayak 18X sport or something, with 18' long and 22" wide. I didn't try in very big waves but I guess in very big waves EPIC V8 might be little more stable than THINK EZE. But THINK EZE being a shorter boat might surf better. I never read any direct comparison between these 2 boats.

Nelo Viper 55 is 17' long and 22" inch wide. Could it be best of both worlds? I never paddled any Nelo boat but I heard from others that Nelo boats are excellent boats. That's the reason I am requesting if anyone who paddled both V8 and Viper 55 could compare directly between these 2 boats.

More
11 years 8 months ago #12503 by ccchappell
I did get a chance to sit in the Nelo Viper 55, but unfortunately was too tight in the hips and short in the leg length for me. Just for reference, I am tight fit in a SE and V10 both hips and leg length. I do not have any problem sitting in a V8 or S18S (which my wife has and loves).