some thoughts about the DORADO surfski

More
3 years 9 months ago #37026 by jo123
Hey,
I'm new to this sport and i'm looking for a boat to start my journey in the surf ski world....
My question is about the dorado.
my weight is about 75kg....
i have tried the dorado and the V10 sport and found the dorado to be very challenging.
My thoughts are if the dorado would be faster and better with riding waves in time as my skills would be better or it will stay unstable and not fun to ride on....
the reason im asking this is due to the price difference between these two.
i saw a very old review here in the forum (in 2012) and thought if someone have some more experience with the dorado?

thanks for the help.....

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 9 months ago #37031 by [email protected]
The Kayak Centre Dorado went out of production quite a few years ago, so I doubt that you'll find many people who still paddle them.

Just a thought - you don't say what the price difference is, but I suspect it would be worth it to have a boat that you enjoy from day one, rather than struggling with the Dorado and perhaps getting discouraged.

If you can afford it, I'd strongly recommend the V10 Sport.  It's a long time since I paddled the Dorado, but I'm fairly sure that the performance you'll get out of the V10 will be better in any case.

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...

More
3 years 9 months ago #37032 by jo123
Hey Robin,

Thanks for the replay...
i agree that the better boat would be the best choice...
for the v10 sport they want something like 1400usd and for the dorado its more like 800usd and maybe with a paddle include...

Do you think the dorado design is so old that its outdated?