Nelo 520 or Epic V8 Pro

• Jones
  • Visitor
5 years 8 months ago #32149 by Jones
Nelo 520 or Epic V8 Pro was created by Jones
I’ve been paddling Epic 18X and V8 Ski/kayaks for about 10 years. Mostly for fitness with the occasional 15K+ race thrown in. Mostly on flat water with the occasional excursion into the Chesapeake Bay here in the Mid Atlantic.

Looking to upgrade my ride soon and have narrowed down to Nelo 520 and the Epic V8 Pro. Not ready for anything narrower than abou 20 inches for now.

Question for the group: Any experience paddling either boats on flat water for extended periods (more than an hour)? What’s your experience?

Thanks in advance

Greg Jones

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• uk gearmuncher
  • Visitor
5 years 8 months ago #32153 by uk gearmuncher
Replied by uk gearmuncher on topic Nelo 520 or Epic V8 Pro
I have a V8 pro and have used it for upto 2 hours on flatwater at times. I had a Fenn Bluefin before that. The V8 pro is more stable in my view and rock solid in pretty much anything that flatwater would throw at you (the odd boat wake/wash, etc). Build quality is A1 and its been a great boat - I like it a lot.

The only negatives I have is that I do find comfort start to become an issue at around 2 hours (as my lower back rubs on the rear of the bucket and I have a decent amount of rotation. I find the weight of the performance model a bit meatier than I would like. I debated at the time whether I should go for the Ultra build (and opted not to as I was told it wouldn't make any difference to the performance) but I wished I had now as carrying it around is a pain.

I'm in a quandry of my own as I find this boat almost too safe now for the conditions I typically paddle in (flatwater and waves chop upto 3ft high) but the V10 sport doesn't seem to be a big step (if at all) but the V10 may well be too much.

• Jones
  • Visitor
5 years 8 months ago #32155 by Jones