New Vajda Hawx 46 - First Impressions etc

More
9 years 11 months ago #20625 by akirker
I paddled the new Vajda Hawx 46 today in the Elite layup. I am a Hawx 43 elite pro owner and paddle mainly in Sydney harbour middle harbour and around the heads. Before I make some first impression comments on the 46, some comments on starting out and a few observations about boats from someone fairly new to the sport who has experimented a little. 

Previously I have owned a V10 Sport (model before the new current one) and a Think EVO 2 carbon. 
My V10 Sport was stolen :-( which led me to a second hand EVO 2.  

As a relatively new paddler here is a couple of notes re these two boats which are meant to be both intermediate. I would say the v10 sport is a beginner to intermediate boat and the EVO2  is more intermediate.  The EVO was quite a step up from the sport. 

While the quality and finish of the EVO 2 was good and it was a nice boat the Hawx 43 (while much narrower) was straight away on the first day for me both a faster and more forgiving boat.
The 43 lets you know before you swim. You have time to react and brace.  The EVO would just throw you in with about a quarter of a seconds notice leaving no time to react. My paddling improved considerably when I left the EVO and went to the HAWX 43. The EVO went to a new home with a better paddler :-)

My first lesson was it's as almost as much about hull shape as width when it comes to stability.  

Fast forward 9 months from the EVO sale and the purchase of the 43 to now. I have been paddling for about 1.5 years and paddle 3 times a week so would say I am now an intermediate paddler. I'm 80kg. 

I love my 43 but sometimes in washing machine conditions, ocean or cross chop I struggle a little, bracing and have the odd swim.  My 43 is a very light boat at 9kg so the weight probably also is a factor in stability.