Ski vs K1

More
10 years 4 months ago #19174 by lckcpaddler2
Ski vs K1 was created by lckcpaddler2
Over a 10k, what do you think is faster with an elite paddler? An ICF K1 or V14?

I have recently been paddling the v14 and I think it is the most comfortable ski I have ever been in. My background is in K1ing and even though I am more comfortable in a K1, I felt like I could potentially paddle a 10k faster in the ski since it is lighter and longer.

Any thoughts?

Morgan House

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 4 months ago #19175 by Fuyang Guy
Replied by Fuyang Guy on topic Ski vs K1
There was a debate a while ago, asking the same question.
My understanding is (and it is that of many others) that it depends on the paddler size/weight.
For smaller paddlers <75kg a K1 will be faster, for bigger guys, the ski will be quicker.

More
10 years 4 months ago #19176 by Jmuzz
Replied by Jmuzz on topic Ski vs K1
The weight is sort of open to debate, since an elite K1 weighs less but has weights added to make the 12kg spec when competing in an ICF-K1 sprint race.
If its racing a V14 over 10km then the 12kg spec wont apply and it can shed the weights, some down to 7kg.

More
10 years 4 months ago #19177 by lckcpaddler2
Replied by lckcpaddler2 on topic Ski vs K1
I guess I'm wondering is there a way to tell if one boat is faster than the other regardless of the paddler or does it ultimately come down to who is paddling the boat?

Morgan House

More
10 years 4 months ago - 10 years 4 months ago #19183 by sAsLEX
Replied by sAsLEX on topic Ski vs K1

lckcpaddler2 wrote: I guess I'm wondering is there a way to tell if one boat is faster than the other regardless of the paddler or does it ultimately come down to who is paddling the boat?

These articles discuss length hull shape etc as to drag and hence speed for input

www.surfski.info/getting-started/tips-ot...addling-part-iv.html