Surf Rudder

More
11 years 4 months ago #14133 by hamishglen
Surf Rudder was created by hamishglen
When would you swap out the universal rudder for a surf rudder? (Epic)
I’m pretty new to this, and just beginning to surf and link runs with around a 15 knot tailwind. Bloody good fun!
I find the boat isn’t too responsive to turn when on the wave, and I’m sure I’m doing a heap of stuff wrong – but would a surf rudder help?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
11 years 4 months ago #14182 by hamishglen
Replied by hamishglen on topic Re: Surf Rudder
i take it no-one uses surf rudders?

More
11 years 4 months ago #14183 by AR_convert
Replied by AR_convert on topic Re: Surf Rudder
Do you know someone with an Epic surf rudder?

Best idea is to try different rudders. It's amazing how different a ski can feel after changing rudders.

If you do get an 8 inch surf rudder you will most likely enjoy the responsiveness you get from it and just keep the universal one for flat water or when there's weed about (if it's the one I'm thinking about that has a more swept back leading edge.

Always looking for the next boat :)

More
11 years 4 months ago #14186 by Marieski
Replied by Marieski on topic Re: Surf Rudder
I put a surf rudder (Hein from Carbonology made it for me) in my Swordfish, which made it easier to control the boat going 45 degrees downwind, which I often have to do to get home. This definitely worked. However, the local Fenn representative sternly told me the rudder was slowing my boat down and I shouldn't need it if I knew how to paddle properly. I'm sure he's right. But gee it's easier........ Take from that what you like.

I'm practicing with the normal sharkfin rudder, but when I'm nervous or really couldn't be bothered worrying about falling out, I use the surf rudder.

Past skis: Spirit PRS, EpicV10Sport Performance, Epic V10 Elite, Stellar SES Advantage. Current skis: Fenn Elite Spark, Fenn Swordfish vacuum. Custom Horizon, Epic V7