× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Advice on my first ski purchase....

More
3 years 3 months ago #37985 by Quack
Hi All
My first post here. I'm new to the sport (~2-3 months) and I'm looking at getting my first ski of my own.
I'm keen to get advice from your experience about the best approach - I'll soon narrow down to a few to go try.
I live in inner west Sydney (Australia) close to the river/harbour so there is lots of quite flat water near me with lots of ferry/boats to create some swells etc. So, I would imagine most use would be in this sort of water. 
However, I want to be able to go and paddle off the beaches, Hawksbury, etc where you can expect lots of chop/wind/swell and action.
So - for my first ski, should I be looking at the most 'advanced' ski I can handle (and grow into) on flattish inner harbour water OR go very stable and have a ski that I can use in the sea, have fun, develop my skills and not spend my time trying to manage balance.
For reference about my ability so far, I currently use Epics (with SHSC  - excellent outfit) - an Epic v8Pro out of Rose Bay  in Sydney in training and V8 for any open water.  I do sometimes fall in. I am 52, ~77kg, 178cm.
Naturally the  next question once I decide what sort of ski (beginner or intermediate), will be what brand and model. I'm doing lots of googling and there are so many and also a few other feature consideration such as venturis vs bailers (does this matter much?), handles etc.  I welcome any real world guidance/experience here. 
Carbonology - Cruze/BoostLV
Fenn - Bluefinn/Swordfsh
Think  - Eze/Ace/Six
Epic - v8/v8Pro/v9
Allwave - Nirvana/Mistral
NK - Exrcize/Squall
The following user(s) said Thank You: Charivari

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 3 months ago #37987 by [email protected]
Pretty sure you'll get a ton of other opinions but...