× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Novice Kayaker

More
3 years 4 months ago #37651 by NZFrank
Novice Kayaker was created by NZFrank
Hi, 
Looking to join a group of kayakers who go out once a week in the bay of islands for an hour or 3. Most are sit in kayaks. No fishing, camping etc. I am less agile than i was and not as fit. I am also a relative novice, but wish to join and do not want to be left behind, so a faster kayak will be needed.
Some have suggested a sit in kayak of 5m length with a comfortable seat (see attachment).
But, Would a "beginners" surfski be appropriate?
Any advice would be appreciated.
Thanks
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 4 months ago - 3 years 4 months ago #37671 by Atlas
Replied by Atlas on topic Novice Kayaker
A beginner surfski will be about as fast as a decent sea kayak. Any ski much "faster" than a good sea kayak will require a certain level of skill and fitness. If you don't have the required skill and fitness; you will actually be slower than if you paddled a sea kayak. Surfskis are great fun but they are not as versatile as a well designed sea kayak.

Current boats
Epic V10L Ultra, Epic V9 Ultra, Carbonology Sport Boost X LV, Fenn Bluefin, Nelo 510, Fenn XT double, Nelo 600, Expedition Kayaks Azure, Mirage 732.
Previous boats
Spirit PRS, Fenn Swordfish, Fenn XT, Fenn Swordfish S, Think Zen, Epic V10L Club, Carbonology Sport Boost LV
Last edit: 3 years 4 months ago by Atlas.

More
3 years 4 months ago #37678 by Epicpaddler
Replied by Epicpaddler on topic Novice Kayaker