× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Help with first surfski

More
3 years 9 months ago #36709 by Rikard87
Hi,

im about to buy my first surfski. I’m a beginner with an experience of just a few paddletours before. I’m 6”3 and weigh 95kg (athletic). I’ve found the surfski interesting because of its safety aspect and main purpose will be exercise paddling. I’ve looked into a few options and thought the forum could give me some advise and thoughts?

1. Nelo 510
2. Epic v7
3. Preowned Epic v8
4. Preowned Epic V10Sport 
5. Nordic Kayaks Exrsize

I fins it valuable to be able to store a tent or gas kitchen so I can do a overnight trip if I want to. Tough that will be at most 1-3 nights / season. So it’s not a must.
ill be paddling I a big Swedish lake Vänern. I want to be able to paddle in all conditions and as long as possible (this year all year round would of been possible due to no ice on the lake).

thanks for any help I’ll receive 
cheers!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
3 years 9 months ago #36718 by agooding2
Replied by agooding2 on topic Help with first surfski
Of those boats, I am not familiar with the Nordic, but you will be a lot happier taking a composite ski on and off the car than a plastic one.  I would suggest the V8 which is plenty stable.  The V10 Sport would take a while to be comfortable in and I wouldn't want to risk a beginner paddling one in cold water.  No help on storage, I know the Stellar boats, like the S18S have space and hatches, but they may not be available there.

Nelo 550L, Streuer Fejna, Nelo Viper 55
Braca XI 705 EL blade, 17K shaft
Braca XI 675 marathon blade, 19K shaft
Braca IV 670 soft blade, 19K shaft

• MCImes
  • Visitor
3 years 9 months ago #36719 by MCImes
Replied by MCImes on topic Help with first surfski
V8 is probably the best beginner boat on your list.  The v7 has a hatch And will allow minimalist camping but is heavy.