× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Newly Purchased Epic V10 Ultra Doesn't Allow Proper Leg Pump

• jjhall
  • Visitor
3 years 11 months ago #36402 by jjhall
While I've been a long time kayaker (mostly WSBS Thunderbolt X and English Rapier) I'm new to surf skis.  I recently purchased an Epic V10 Ultra (Gen 2) and now that I'm learning the nomenclature/fit of this ski I find my legs to short, and/or the hump to high for proper leg pump.  I'm 5'-7" tall at 155 lbs.  Both the Epic website and Epic rep said this boat would be a fit as it accommodates paddlers as short as 5'-4".

I've tried padding the back of the bucket in order to move forward.  This did not work.  In tandem, I tried padding the bottom of the seat, but found this caused a high degree of instability.

The only thing I can think of is to move the rails, thus footplate, higher and I see no realistic means of doing so even from a professional installer.

This boat is in excellent condition and I would very much like to keep it.  The stability and construction are great.  So if anyone has a thought in the matter (even if it includes "there's nothing that can be done") I would sincerely appreciate hearing it so I can take whatever steps, necessary.

Thanks,
Jack

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• MCImes
  • Visitor
3 years 11 months ago - 3 years 11 months ago #36403 by MCImes
Are you expecting to pump your legs almost straight like a K1 or WSBS boat allows? No ski allows K1 style extreme pumping (legs almost straight when fully extended) and close maybe a full 30° of pumping (150° when fully bent, just guessing an angles here).

Epic buckets generally get good reviews for both fit and ergonomics, so my guess is its just your perception. 

I have never heard of anyone raising the foot pedals (unless they have monster feet). You're on the smaller side so I doubt that's you.