× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

Help with technique

• malvina
  • Visitor
7 years 5 months ago #27446 by malvina
Help with technique was created by malvina
Hello everyone. This is my first post, though I have been reading this forum for about a year. I know there are some very expert paddlers here and I was wondering if you could help me with a doubt that has been puzzling me for some time.

But first of all, since I am new here I though I would introduce myself with some info to help you understand the type of paddler you are talking to. Male, 53 years old, reasonably fit. Have been paddling for 6 years, of which 4 in a traditional sea kayak and 2 in a surfski. I currently paddle an Allwave Genesi, an initiation surfski (520 x 50 cm) with a wing paddle (Epic mid-wing). I am pretty much self-taught. I live near the sea in the south of Spain but there are no paddlers in the area (mine is the only surfski I have ever seen in the area) so I rely on the internet for technique improvement. My technique "bibles" are the "forward stroke clinic" DVD by Bret Reitz and the wonderful ebook "perfecting your technique" by Kevin Brunette. I also watch videos of elite paddlers and, last but not least, have obtained tons of good information from this forum. I had my technique checked a few months ago by Sean Rice who confirmed that I have an overall correct paddling style (I think he was overly generous). I go to the sea almost every day for an 8 to 10 km paddle, I usually cruise at a speed of between 9 to 10 kms and sprint to a top speed of between 13 to 14 kms.