Any advice on Knysna Racing Kayaks Stingray

More
14 years 3 weeks ago #4237 by knysna novice
Hi,

I'm a complete beginner paddler, only been out on a stable canoe in the past few weeks and a little paddle ski before that but recently seen a Stingray surfski up for sale, know nothing about this boat but would like to know if anyone could recommend if its a good first buy or maybe not the best idea for a beginner. Not actually sure if its the right size for me yet though. Any advice would be much appreciated!

Cheers
Brad

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 3 weeks ago #4244 by wmongie
My first boat was a Stingray and after 18 months paddling and 3 boats later, I can honestly say that a Stingray isn't the best starter boat.

For various reasons, many people tend to go for the cheaper option when buying their first boat. The reality is that with surfskis, you tend to get what you pay for. The Stingray is an old design and therefore doesn't incorporate many of the design bits and bobs which make modern surfskis so much fun to paddle. In my experience the stingray is unstable (it has no secondary stability), heavy, has a big rocker (which makes turning a dream but doesn't help with directional stability) and it's also quite short which affects the overall speed of the boat. It doesn't have a single footwell and doesn't have an adjustable footplate so finding one that's a perfect fit will be hard.

Buying your first boat can be tricky but the best advice I can give you is to spend time trying out various makes and models before you commit. Spend as much time as you need and make sure you're making a good buy otherwise you'll be back in the classifieds section within a couple of months.

Good luck!

More
14 years 2 weeks ago #4245 by gig
Brad