Hello, from the new paddler!

More
14 years 1 month ago #4120 by Zarb
Hey guys/gals, I am new to the paddling scene, so I thought may introduce myself.

I am twenty two years old living in Sydney. My first encounter with a ski was when I was encouraged to give a spec ski a go through my surf lifesaving club as a 16 yr old. After falling a few times then finally starting to get used to paddling, I moved further inland and ceased lifesaving.

So now after moving back to the waters edge (Mosman), I started growing jealous of all the kayakers around the harbor. Made the decision to get my own ski, and started looking around.

I found a Fenn Millennium in my size, and jumped at the opportunity. Didn't actually realize how tippy this thing was!

Picked it up on the weekend, and have been out a few times so far. Finally getting it under control, I can paddle it in fairly choppy water now, but still have trouble running at right angles t swell.

Looking forward to learning more about paddling sports and getting a few curiosities answered! Maybe even finding a group to go outside the harbor and past the heads! (Cant wait!)

Will the Fenn Millennium ever be a comfortable multi hour ski to use? And how would it be entering and exiting surf zones? I realize its no surf spec ski, but what are its limits?

Cheers!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
14 years 1 month ago #4148 by SydneyonaFenn
Hi there

It sounds like you are doing well to handle your new ski so quickly. I have only been paddling for a few months on an XT so feeling more confident now but it is still a test for me heading out towards the heads.