Epic V10 gen4 v Carbonology Zest X

More
9 months 1 week ago #40574 by Dicko
It's new boat time. Any thoughts.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
9 months 4 days ago #40582 by zachhandler
Dicko - I don’t have a lot to offer here as I have no experience with the zest and have never been in a gen4 v10…

But during gorge week 3 of my long time paddling partners downwindedin the new v10 and came away super impressed. The debate was whether or not it was better than the Vega Flex downwind, which they all regard as the best downwind boat ever.

To summarize their opinions: the v10 is more nimble than the flex. It will turn any direction anytime anywhere you want. It is drier and more stable than the flex. It is less prone to getting broached. Seat position is higher and a little wider. What the flex does better is that is prescriptive. If you have been in a vega or vega flex you will know what I mean. It wants to turn in the correct direction at the correct time to link waves. Build on the flex is better - prepreg and seamless. it is a less expensive boat that is also lighter and stiffer. So of the 3 paddlers one wants to change to the v10, one does not, and one is on the fence.

So that is second hand news and not comparing the two boats in question, but it’s all I have.

Personally I have a lot of experience with the vega and some with the vega flex. Vega is the best downwind boat I have ever been in by a significant margin. So if these three vega flex owners are calling the new v10 on par but different than the vega flex downwind, it must be really really good.

Current Skis: Epic v10 g3, NK 670 double, NK exrcize, Kai Wa’a Vega, Carbonology Feather, Think Jet, Knysna Sonic X
Former Skis: Epic V12 g2, Epic V12 g1, Epic v10 double, Nelo 550 g2, Fenn Elite S, Custom Kayaks Synergy

More
9 months 3 days ago #40586 by Glider
Hi Zachandler,

Great feedback on the V10 gen4 against the Vega Flex.