Advice needed on surfski & shops

More
5 years 6 months ago #32793 by ysu
Sorry, long post.

My request for help is twofold, in short:

- Which ski would be best for me, considering I'm after speed, and pretty much flatwater only (mild waves at most) I'm inexperienced, but not afraid of learning.

- Aussie/Sydney/Central Coast kayakers: anyone knows good shops or events around here where I can test-drive surf skis on flat water? I just could not find anything. Some kayak expo would be great.

I'm a fairly beginner paddler, started last year in a Hurricane Santee 116 (as stable a kayak as it can get). I've found it rather limiting after about 6 months, so now I've decided to buy something else. Something fast.

I'm 47, 170cm, 68kgs. I live next to Ourimbah creek & Tuggerah lakes, (Australia) so I've got great weather and flat water most of the year. I've been out ~3 times a week for ~8 months, doing usually 4-6kms as a break from work in the day. Got a bit of technique now, I can edge a bit, but I've hit a brick wall in speed at around 6.5km/h in this kayak (sustained).

I do not intend to go onto sea, but I'd like to be able to go out in a bit choppier conditions, and/or other places (holidays are usually next to some bay area or river).

I know I should try out these boats before I buy...but here's the issue; trying isn't so simple, as I can't find any shops nearby for that. The nearest ones are in Sydney, that's a decent 2-hr drive, and last I asked about Stellar, stock is very limited and also some of the places are next to the ocean - not what I want for a test. So I'd like to know that if I'm going off to test something, I'm not wasting a day of my time testing the wrong kayak for my level.

p.s. I've looked around and I love the idea of a Stellar SR, but read it has a fairly large bucket - I'm thin, and I'd love to go fast (did I mention it?) so maybe a Stellar SEI - but it maybe too advanced? Or maybe even an SR is too much?