V10 Sport Gen 2 vs Current Design

More
5 years 7 months ago #32509 by SpaceSputnik
Just wondering how significant are the differences between older Epic V10 Sport and the current design. We have a couple of club gen 2s (circa 2012) floating on the used market for a reasonable price.
Newer ones are not available used and the club layup is now unavailable which would bump my expenditure more than twice compared to the used. Are the differences that critical?
I plan to keep my V7, so I would have a fallback where rock solid stability is important.

PS I am aware of the difference points such slower, less stable, old bailer and no carry handles.

Thanks!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 7 months ago #32510 by ReggieGrundy
I just bought my self an older V10 SPORT. My other ski is a V8 PRO. I am a beginner paddler and only bought the V10 SPORT as it was a bargain and thought I may get use out of it in the future. Unfortunately I have found it to be similar speed as the v8 PRO and certainly not faster, however this could be because of slight less stability. I would suggest the older v10 Sport would be a significant upgrade from a v7 but to answer your question I think the new v10 SPORT is alot more refined than previous versions. That's what I've been led to believe from people that have paddled both.
The following user(s) said Thank You: SpaceSputnik

More
5 years 7 months ago #32514 by mickeyA
I thought v10Sport g2 was the current design. Did they recently come out with g3/current design? As I recall, g2 has 2013 design label stamped on stern with year made sometime after that (mine says 2015). I guess it is near time for a new design but was not aware of it. Thanks.

KR McGregor Rhythm, V10Sport, Swordfish S, Fenn Tarpon S, Fenn XT, Twogood Chalupski, Findeisen Stinger spec. Had: V12, Stellar SE, Huki S1-X, Burton wedge2, Fenn Tarpon

More
5 years 7 months ago #32516 by SpaceSputnik