Realistic Pace Expectations

More
5 years 9 months ago #31980 by Gooch
I am new to Surfski but am over the hump on the stability issues and getting my stroke closer to where it needs to be. I use a Garmin triathlon GPS to track my work outs and am curious what is realistic for speed and how much I can still gain.

I am 6'2" 190 lbs. Extensive fitness back ground but 51 years old. I paddle mostly early mornings on flat water and am in a Epic V10 sport (gen1). I can go for about 1-2 hours and hold 5.4 - 5.6 MPH avg pace. My max speeds are usually around 6.5 on any given day and my cadence is usually around 65 RPM (measuring one arm)

Is it realistic to think I can get to a sustained 6 MPH in this boat? should I work to increase cadence more or power more?

Appreciate your thoughts.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 9 months ago #31981 by nell
Replied by nell on topic Realistic Pace Expectations
Gooch, a 65 stroke rate, counting on one side only, is very telling, because your cruising stroke rate should be somewhere around 70-90? when counting both sides.

My guess is that if you are at least average in VO2 level, and coordination, you should be able to see speeds in the mid 6's for 1-2 hrs at moderate effort, and max speeds in the mid to high 8's in that ski.

Ski/kayak paddling with a wing paddle is very technically demanding, particularly compared to running and cycling - sports where most of us came from. The good news is that you can keep getting faster every year if you work on it - even at your age. Watch Ivan Lawler's 1 hr long video "Ivan Lawler kayak (canoe) racing technique masterclass" on Youtube for some tips. Also, reach out to some experienced paddlers in your area if you can.

More
5 years 9 months ago #31982 by Davidw
Replied by Davidw on topic Realistic Pace Expectations
Hi there. I'm a 55 year old paddler.