What's the smallest wave you can surf downwind?

More
6 years 4 months ago - 6 years 4 months ago #30385 by HangTen
I'm relatively new to surfski, so interested in hearing the theory and techniques for small waves because it seems like all the downwind videos are more focused on the big ocean swell downwinds which you only get close to in my area the day before or after big storms. Is there a minimum size? Or minimum distance between the crests?

I feel like the distance between the crests is what is important to actually surf, ie. you're paddling downhill vs. flat or up, although I suppose even if the waves are so close together that you're not surfing that the small waves are pushing you?

In the attached A is when you have great downwind conditions and you're just grinning ear to ear because you're surfing.

But in B situations where your boat doesn't really fit between waves to be "downhill", just from my experience I match the wave speed and then steer to angle immediately so it will "fit" as shown in C from a top down view.

Also, when people refer to "runners" are those the small waves in B or are they the really fast running waves you see compounded underneath the slower moving waves that you need to link up off the slower waves to have any chance of catching? I feel like I've seen it used in both contexts.
Attachments:
Last edit: 6 years 4 months ago by HangTen.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
6 years 4 months ago #30390 by AR_convert
Good post and why shorter skis will be more popular is parts of the world where you are likely to be only getting the short period wind driven waves in B and C.

As you've pointed out, often you cant fit the longer skis down the wave so you must be going one way or the other.

I'm lazy and prefer to paddle down wind that only has localised wind generated waves and no swell (protected inshore waters, estuary's etc) Lot less technical and for me at least, more fun.