My comparison...feedback please

More
11 years 8 months ago #12651 by JJ2
Hi all... I am a beginner to surfski and looking for my first ski. Recently I paddled an Epic V8 and a Fenn XT. Both boats were paddled in flat water. My first impression after paddling both was - Wow...how different! The Epic V8 really feels very similar to a South African kayak I already own..(ski top and kayak hull the Kaskazi Skua AR) It is wider than the Epic so the Epic only felt a little tippier at first to me. After paddling the Epic, I felt I got really comfortable in it in a short time. The Epic felt a lot more stable than the Fenn XT. After paddling the Epic, I felt like I might grow out of this boat but not having paddled it in any waves of any size, I don't know how it would handle. I purposefully tipped the boat over just to see if I could get back in it and I accomplished that very easily.

The Fenn on the other hand felt very tippy from the minute I sat in it. I have to say that I paddled the Fenn in a canal and the water was flat flat flat! Hardly a breeze either. I was given a tip to make sure I looked at the horizon and keep paddling. Following this tip, I started off and paddled it very caustiously. Being someone esles boat and not having a leash on it, I was nervous about flipping it so I kept paddling back and forth. Finally at my last trip out I was able to extend my arms more and try for a more proper stroke. I accomplished this without tipping the boat. After my trial was over and I was in the car going home, I realized I was disappointed that I didn't flip it because now I don't know if I could get back into it.