Question from a Newbie

More
10 years 2 months ago #19535 by Lost_Youth
Hi All,
I'm new to this game (well sort of, paddled a wave ski in my late teen's). I'm 42, 6ft (183cm) and 105kg (the reason to start paddling). I've ridden road bikes and BMX(race) for years so have reasonable balance (so I think). I currently paddle a plastic kayak on the river 3-4 times a week and looking to step up to a surf ski for better fitness paddling. I'm restricted in cash ($1000) so I'm looking for advise! I will only be river paddling for now until my skill and confidence have developed and then look at ocean paddling.
I have read a lot that a stable ski is the best to start in, but also that these ski's get moved on quiet quickly.
How much more difficult is it to start in a "tipper" ski and persevere - I'm guessing this is what used to happen before the more stable ski's became readily available?
How much longer will it take to be able to be comfortable?
ATM there are a few V10's, Custom Kayak Synergy, and the plastic PRS available in my local area.
Your thoughts are appreciated. Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
10 years 2 months ago #19538 by AR_convert
Replied by AR_convert on topic Question from a Newbie
Best bang for buck would be the PRS. Where are you?

If you decide to get into some flat water (marathon) racing (great way to meet other paddlers and get fit) you will find plenty racing the PRS in the Long Plastics class so you are really racing against them instead of all the others in the "Molokai" class.

Dont let the Marathon tag put you off, we have shorter distances at events for beginners and juniors.

Handling long skis takes a while to get used to and a long plastic will enable you to get used to it without crying when you drop it, or bang it into something etc.

They can still get along at a good pace despite their weight (approx 20kg)