The optimal GPS for surf ski

More
7 years 3 months ago #27884 by SurfskiEstonia
Hi, guys!

I've been using a Garmin Vivoactive (1st gen) for 2 years, but don't have it anymore.

Would like to take a look at products outside the Garmin/Suunto/Polar GPS watches. When I think about the activities where I really use GPS capabilities, those are surf ski paddling (85%) and bicycling (15%). So I don't really need all those smart watch functions.

Do You have any suggestions/thoughts about an appropriate GPS watch/gadget to be mounted on a surf ski.

The keywords are:

1. Waterproof
2. Reasonable accuracy (want to see the speed while accelerating down the wave)
3. Sufficient screen visibility in the sun and dark
4. Comfortable carry and mounting on the ski

All suggestions are very welcome :) Thanks!!

Current: Carbonology Boost double, Jantex Gamma Mid
Previous: Nelo Ocean Ski L, Jantex Gamma Rio Large Minus

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
7 years 3 months ago #27885 by WingSuit
Garmin 920 XT. its a big square watch, but you can see up to 4 fields at once: speed, distance, heart rate, etc. its easily buckles around the footstrap and is big enough to see. its new enough where the GPS only takes a couple seconds to find your location. and, the battery lasts for several paddles.
The following user(s) said Thank You: SurfskiEstonia

• grasshopper
  • Visitor
7 years 3 months ago #27888 by grasshopper
Replied by grasshopper on topic The optimal GPS for surf ski
For something specific to paddling check out Motionize. It uses 2 sensors, 1 on the paddle and 1 on the boat and gives a lot of feedback on your paddle stroke. It uses your mobile phone as the display/recording device.

More
7 years 3 months ago #27892 by kwolfe
Replied by kwolfe on topic The optimal GPS for surf ski