Is this surfski too unstable for my ability?

More
2 years 11 months ago #38254 by John Ski
I thought I'd just throw this out there for a general consensus.  I am able to paddle around in flat water for two hours without falling in, but on a windy day with lots of chop, when turning around in a lap, I would get broadsided and it would flip me out.  I am able  to get back in at least by the second attempt.  In an hour, I probably fell out four times.  The wind would push me and the boat around easily.  I'm relatively new to paddling, about three months experience.  Just curious if I should get a more stable surfski?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
2 years 11 months ago #38255 by [email protected]
What surfski are you paddling now?!

Rob

Currently Fenn Swordfish S, Epic V10 Double.
Previously: Think Evo II, Carbonology Zest, Fenn Swordfish, Epic V10, Fenn Elite, Red7 Surf70 Pro, Epic V10 Sport, Genius Blu, Kayak Centre Zeplin, Fenn Mako6, Custom Kayaks ICON, Brian's Kayaks Molokai, Brian's Kayaks Wedge and several others...

More
2 years 11 months ago #38257 by mrcharly
Second question; have you had any coaching?

If not, seek out some. At the least, try to get someone to film you from side on.

A common issue with forward paddle stroke  is too have too long a stroke. Once past the hip, you are essentially pulling yourself in. You can get away with that in flat water, but the merest tap from a wave and you will go in.

• MCImes
  • Visitor
2 years 11 months ago #38258 by MCImes
First, what boat are you paddling?

Flat water is not much of a standard by which to judge a ski, unless all you ever plan to do is paddle flat water. To me, you stability should be judged in the worst conditions you paddle, because that's where stability matters, not on flat water. (I mean, if you're falling out on flat water then your boat is definitely too skinny and you will only develop poor habits)