McGregor and Winter crowned 2011 Surfski Series Champs (South Africa)

Monday, 11 July 2011 08:24 | Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Grant vd Walt wins the 10 and final Discovery Sunglass Hut Series race in Durban Grant vd Walt wins the 10 and final Discovery Sunglass Hut Series race in Durban

Durban – Having already secured this year’s Dunlop Surfski World Cup title Hank McGregor added the 2011 Discovery Sunglass Hut Surfski Series to his hugely impressive list of paddling achievements despite not being able to take part in the tenth and final leg of the series.

Berg River Marathon

McGregor, currently in the Cape ahead of his title defense of the Windhoek Berg canoe marathon which gets underway on Tuesday, stamped his authority on the series when he won all five of the races he took part in and looked in sublime form throughout.

“I’m really chuffed to have been able to take the series and to have won both the Varsity College series and this one in the same year is really great!” said McGregor.

Hank McGregor

Hank McGregor - on his way to win race 3 of the series

“I’m not able to take part in as many races as I would like to but every race I do participate in I give my all and fortunately Neptune was on my side this year and five races counted which meant my five wins was enough,” he added.

Typical Winter Conditions

With a couple of the other top paddlers also unavailable for this week’s HiQ Marine surfski race, many of the series’ next tier of paddlers were eager to earn themselves some crucial last minute points and finish this year’s unusual series on a positive note.

Typical winter conditions made a welcome return to Durban bay and Grant van der Walt lead the field around the 12km course from start to finish and showed just why he is held in such high regard by many in the paddling fraternity.

“I haven’t been able to race much recently and I’ve really missed it so it was really awesome to be back in the ski again!” said van der Walt.

“I’m not quite used to the distance so it was a little tough but the surf turns along the beachfront were such good fun and broke things up nicely,” he added.

Winter conditions

Classic winter conditions in Durban...

Despite van der Walt’s recent absence due to sprint commitments he finished comfortably ahead of the rest of the field with Mark Mulder narrowly edging out Oliver Burn from Amanzimtoti for second spot a little way behind.

Last year’s champion Matt Bouman’s consistently strong performances saw him claim the series’ runners-up prize whilst Umhlanga’s Barry Lewin claimed the bottom step on the podium overall.

Discovery Sunglass Hut Series

Women’s Racing

In the ladies section has been all Donna Winter throughout the series and even though she too missed the closing race the well experienced paddler deservedly claimed the 2011 Discovery Sunglass Hut Surfski Series title.

“I started a little slowly having been not been able to paddle for a while but I was happy with how I progressed throughout the series and to have won overall is really fantastic,” said Winter.

“It obviously would have been nice to have had a little more competition in the ladies section this year but a win’s a win nonetheless and I’m really chuffed with the result,” she added.

Donna Winter

Donna Winter - styling (in race 3)!

In the doubles section it was another strong performance by Brett Hadiaris and Ross Fountain which saw them take the win whilst in the short course Tim Drummond edged out Luke Steenkamp in the singles section and Wayne and Eiljah Symington claimed the doubles race.


Pics by Anthony Grote,


Scottburgh to Brighton

With the series having wrapped up those brave souls now turn their attention towards next week’s 46.5km Discovery Scottburgh to Brighton surfski race which gets underway at 07h00 from Scottburgh’s main beach and will test paddlers’ endurance and mental toughness like few other races.

More information can be found at

Discovery Sunglass Hut Surfski Series 



Long Course - Men

  1. Grant van der Walt 57.29
  2. Mark Mulder 1:00.50
  3. Oliver Burn 1:00.53
  4. Quinton Rutherford 1:01.09
  5. Shadrack Mkhize 1:04.16
  6. Stuart Waterworth 1:05.17
  7. Shaun Austin 1:06.11
  8. Mark Lewin 1:06.47
  9. Andrew Neal 1:06.57
  10. Warren Beuster 1:07.07

 Long Course - Women

  1. Sharon Armstrong 1:23.26
  2. Anna Clifford Arwidi 1:25.57
  3. Thea van der Westhuizen 1:26.18

 Long Course - Juniors

  1. Gene Prato 1:07.49
  2. Lyall Whitehead 1:09.37
  3. Calvin McKie 1:14.23

 Long Course - Doubles

  1. Brett Hadiaris/Ross Fountain 1:02.11
  2. Mark Ussher/David Chaplin 1:03.19
  3. Gary Waud/Glenn Hilliar 1:03.23

 Short Course - Singles

  1. Tim Drummond 34.36
  2. Luke Steenkamp 34.56
  3. Alaistair Urquhart 37.07

Short Course - Doubles

  1. Wayne Symington/Elijah Symington 34.26

Series Podium Positions

SC Lady Janeira Reddy 271.3 Wilma Deysel 241.3 Nicole Grinday 208.12
SC Men Luke Steenkamp 397,08 Adrian Harper 366.70 Jed Borrill 356.08
SC DBL R.Love/J.Liebenberg    
SC DBL Lady M.Opperman/L.Glossop    
Mixed DBL N.Veckranges /JL Mauvis 483,32 T & B Hatton 431,68 K.Norse/M.Staphorst 414,44
Vet DBL S.Wisedale/T.Vernes 483.75 D.Swales/J.Maehler 479,43 R.Poacher/G.Clarke 467,53
Master DBL J.Edmonds/J.Chadwick 431,51 M.Nichol/T.Waldburger 375,59 D & J Button 363,26
Women DBL Cara & Tahne Bush    
Overall DBL B.Hadiaris/R.Fountain 497.27 S.Wisedale/T.Vernes 483.75 N.Veckranges /JL Mauvis 483,32
E Grade Gavin Smith 249.52 Wanda Mbutho 217.34 Cecylia Karcz 160.73
D Grade Tom Pringle 241.48 Leon Ackerman 236.92 David Maehler 230.3
C Grade Devon Thompson 383.36 Gene Prato 379.86 Calvin McKie 378.99
B Grade Nigel Stevens 427.61 Shaun Austin 422.37 Mark Lewin 417.37
Junior Gene Prato 379.86 Calvin McKie 378.99 Lyall Whitehead 371.36
Vet Quinton Rutherford 464.42 Steve Cohen 429.62 MikeStevens 429.36
Master Nigel Stevens 427.61 Mark Lewin 417.37 Bruce Jackson 388.79
Grand Master Mike Halliday 263.45    
Elite Women Donna Winter    
Elite Men Hank McGregor 500% Matt Bouman 499.23% Barry Lewin 476.82

Latest Forum Topics

  • No posts to display.