× Tips and techniques for getting the most out of surfskiing.

How to get faster - Technique or fitness or both

More
5 years 3 weeks ago #33701 by manta
Hi

I am hoping someone can help me as perhaps I am missing something.
I have been paddling for 18 months in a Fenn Bluefinn. My average speed over 10km is between 9.5 - 9.8km/h and no matter what I do I cannot seem to get it higher. This speed means back of pack if not last in most races or paddling sessions.

I paddle on average 3 times per week. I usually do 2 interval workouts, 1 short one (1min on 2min off) or longer intervals (1km on, rest 1 minute then repeat) . I will also do a Long Slow Paddle about every 10 days where I try and paddle in excess of 2 hours (building towards 4 hours incrementally). I also surf my ski at a beach break whenever the mood grabs me and I downwind when the wind and my work schedule align. I hit the gym twice a week, one strength session where I try and lift as much as possible and one building session where the weights are lower but I do more reps.

My question, is speed an effect of technique, fitness or both? I have been for coaching and my technique although not world class is considered okay. I am not super fit by any stretch (elite athlete level) but I also do not feel I am unfit. 

My problem seems to be centred around not being able to maintain the boat speed higher than what I have mentioned. I can paddle faster than that on intervals but those are not sustainable. I know there are many factors that play into this but perhaps someone has been where I am and they have some sage advice. 

Lastly 45 years old in excellent health and a little fitter and trimmer looking than the average dad bod middle aged dude. 

How do I get faster?

M

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 3 weeks ago #33703 by [email protected]